Jump to content

halal haram list


Zahid Hussain

Recommended Posts

Click Here To Get The Printer Friendly Version

 

 

 

INFORMATION ABOUT INGREDIENTS ON FOODS, TOOTHPASTE, SOAP ETC.

 

 

 

INTRODUCTION

 

We hope that this information will be of great use to you and that you will read the ingredient on every product before you make your purchase. If in doubt, you may write to the company. They have been very helpful in providing the requested information.

 

 

 

CONSULTATION OF COMPANIES

 

Here are the results of consultations done with various food companies. No particular questions were asked about products that may contain alcohol.

 

L.D. Schrieber Cheese Company:

 

No shortening, lard, gelatin or lecithin used. Cow products are used HALAL

 

Burger King Corporation:

 

Shortening used in from swine = HARAM

 

Lard is used in buns and apple pie = HARAM

 

Lecithin is used in buns =HARAM

 

Because you are not sure.

 

Shakes = HALAL

 

General Goods:

 

Lard is used on Swan Down Cake mixes. Gelatin (from collagen-bearing tissues of any animal) is used in many products including Jell-O Brad Gelatin Desert = HARAM

 

Knox Gelatin Inc.:

 

 

 

Knox Gelatin is prepared from the protein collagen, which is extracted from either beef (bones and skin) or PORK (SKINS) =HARAM

 

American Lecithin Company:

 

 

 

Our lecithin is derived from soybeans and is sold under the trade name Alcoles = HALAL

 

Nestle:

 

 

 

A list was sent to MSA confirming that their products do not contain any animal by-product. Lecithin used in their products is derived from Soybeans = HALAL

 

 

 

General Mills Inc.:

 

 

 

Shortening similar to lard is used, also Soya lecithin is used =HARAM

 

(Because it does not say Soya or lard and you don't know so it is better to avoid)

 

Quaker Oats:

 

 

 

Soybean lecithin is used. Shortening used is from swine. Some of the products are MASA Trigo, Flako pie crust and cup cake mix.

 

SEVERAL TERMS

 

A. Derived from pork or other animal

 

 

 

Bacon

 

Ham

 

Sausage

 

Lard

 

Fat

 

Gelatin

 

Shortening (animal).

 

B. Avoid - doubtful (may be derived from animal or vegetable):

 

 

 

Lecithin

 

Emulsifier

 

Dough conditioners

 

Mono and diglycerides

 

Enzymes or rennet in cheese

 

 

 

C. You can use: HALAL

 

Soya-lecithin

 

Soybean lecithin

 

Vegetable lecithin

 

Vegetable shortening

 

Vegetable mono and diglyceriders

 

Vegetable enzymes or rennetless cheese.

 

Fish.

 

D. Avoid may contain alcohol

 

Artificial and imitation extracts and flavorings

 

E. When you see these letters:

 

"U" or "K" they may mean that the produce does not contain anything from an animal.

 

 

 

AVOID THE FOLLOWING AS THEY MAY CONTAIN ALCOHOL:

 

Artificial and Imitation extracts and Flavorings.

 

MISCELLANEOUS FOOD ITEMS

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Kellog Co.

Frosted Pop Tarts

Type-B Gelatin

(Vegetable/Beef)

Investigate

 

 

Unfrosted Pop Tarts

No Gelatin

HALAL

 

Frank Foods

QT Frosting mix

Vegetable fat (Shortening)

HALAL

 

General Mills Inc.

Ready-to-Spread

Frosting

Vegetable fat/or Lard

HARAM

 

Proctor & Gamble

Duncan Hines

Cake Mix &

Pringles

Vegetable fat

HALAL

 

Great Atlantic & Pacific Co.

A&P Creamer

Coconut & Palm Oil

HALAL

 

Topco Assoc. Inc.

Food Club Non Dairy Creamer

Vegetable fat

HALAL

 

 

Dietary Creamer

Vegetable Fat

HALAL

 

Penn Maid Food Inc.

Natural Yogurt

No Gelatin

HALAL

 

 

Swiss Yogurt

Gelatin from Calf skin

HARAM

 

Jolly Rancher

Candies

Palm & Coconut Oil

HALAL

 

M & M Co.

Starburst fruit Chews

Gelatin from Lard

HARAM

 

American Home Foods

Crunch 'N' Munch

Vegetable Fat

HALAL

 

 

 

 

DISINFECTANT

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Lehn & Fink Products

Lyson Brand

All products

Synthetic chemicals

HALAL

 

 

 

 

BREAD AND PASTRY

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Drake Bakeries (Div. Of Borden foods Inc.)

Honey bun

Lard

HARAM

 

Entenmanns

All Products

Vegetable Shortening

HALAL

 

Giants Goods

Bread

Vegetable Shortening

HALAL

 

Huber Baking Co. (Bakers Of sunshine Bread)

Roman Meal Bread

Soybean Salad oil

HALAL

 

Keebler

All products

Vegetable Shortening

Oleo and Lard

HARAM

 

Nabisco

All Products

Lard

HARAM

 

Pepperidge farm

Rolls, Bread, Butter or Cakes*

Vegetable shortening

HALAL

 

* NOTE:

Layer cakes even though this cake is made with good shortening the GELATIN USED is made from PIGSKIN

HARAM

 

Pillsbury Co.

1896/69 Brand Butter, Milk Biscuit

Vegetable shortening

HALAL

 

Stroehmann Brothers Co

Hillbilly Bread

White Bread

Lard

HARAM

 

Sunshine Biscuit Co.

All products

Vegetable shortening

HALAL

 

 

 

 

ICE CREAM

 

Manufacturer

Product

Use

 

Baskin Robbins

Ice Cream, Sherbets, Water ice

 

NOTE: Ice cream and those flavors Containing might marshmallow

HALAL

 

HARAM

 

Pensupreme

Ice Cream

HARAM

 

Pensupreme schraff

Ice cream (available at safeway)

HALAL

 

Meadow Gold

Ice cream

HALAL

 

Meadow Gold Louis sherry

Ice cream (all natural)

HALAL

 

Abbotts

Ice Cream, Sherbets, Water ice

HALAL

 

Pantry Pride

Ice cream

HALAL

 

Breyers

Ice cream

HALAL

 

 

 

 

CHEWING GUM

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Dynamint Co.

Dynamints

Candelilla Wax

HALAL

 

Wrigley's Co.

Chewing gum

100% mineral or Vegetable base

HALAL

 

Warner Lambert Co.

Chewing Gum

Chicklets Dentyne Trident

Freshen Up

Vegetable base

HALAL

 

Beach Nut

Chewing Gum

Glcerl Monosterate Or Ester of Gum from any animal fat

HARAM

 

 

 

 

FROZEN PIZZA PIES

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Jan's

Mozzarella Cheese

Vegetable

HALAL

 

Buitoni

Mozzarella Cheese

Vegetable

HALAL

 

Little Chef

Mozzarella Cheese

Vegetable

HALAL

 

Ellio's

Cheddar Cheese

Swine pepsin

HARAM

 

Quaker Celeste

Mozzarella Cheese

Swine pepsin

HARAM

 

 

 

 

PIZZA RESTAURANTS

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Pizza Hut

Mozzarella Cheese

Vegetable

HALAL

 

 

NOTE: Making of pizza is not according to SHARIAH.

Example: They are using same pot or tray and knife that they use in pork.

 

 

 

CHEESE

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Purity Company

Muenster Cheese

Caraway Muenster Cheese

Monterey jack

Muenster Cheese(with hot pepper)

Farmers Cheese

Burie (Imported) Cheese

Camembert Cheese

Romano Cheese

Parmesan Cheese

Vegetable

HALAL

 

Clearfield

Natural Cheese Kosher Brand.

Calf Rennet

HARAM

 

Kraft

Philadelpia Cream Cheese

Whipped Cream Cheese

Neufchatel

Lactic acid

HALAL

 

McCadm Co.

New York State

Calf & swine Rennet

HARAM

 

Framageries Bal. Inc.

Cheese

Calf Rennet

HARAM

 

World Cheese Col.

Migdal American

Haolam

Vegetable

HALAL

 

Schanling Col.

Schnall American

(Individually wrapped)

Schnall Muenster sliced

Schnall Mozzarella

Vegetable

HALAL

 

Clay Butter Co.

Millers Cheese

Vegetable

HALAL

 

 

NOTE: Calf (plural = calves): a young cow or bull.

 

 

 

COSMETICS

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Avon

All Products

Petrochemicals

HALAL

 

Wella Corp.

Balsam products

Petrochemicals

HALAL

 

Johnson Product Inc.

Ultra Sheen

Lanolin

HALAL

 

Lustrasilk Corp.

Scalp Cream

Lanolin

HALAL

 

Westwood Pharmaceutical

Keri Lotion

Synthetic chemical

HALAL

 

Chesbrough Ponds Inc.

Vaseline Intensive Lotion

Lard

HARAM

 

 

 

 

SOAP

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Proctor & Gamble Co.

Kirk's Coso Hardwater Castile

Lava

Coconut oil

Vegetable fat

HALAL

 

 

Ivory

Camay

Safe Guard

Coast

Zest

Beef & Pork Tallow

HARAM

 

Lever Brothers Co.

Lux

Lifebuoy

Phase II

Dove

Caress

Beef Tallow*

HARAM

 

Colgate Palmolive Co.

Palmolive

Cashmere

Beef & Pork Tallow*

HARAM

 

Andrew Jergen Co.

Jergens

Woodbury

Beef Tallow*

HARAM

 

Armour Dial inc.

Dial

Tone

Irish spring

Beef Tallow*

 

Pork Tallow*

HARAM

 

Amway Corporation

All Bar Soaps

Pork Tallow*

HARAM

 

 

Nivia Creams

Sheep's Skin/Fat*

 

 

 

* NOTE: The Sheep/Beef that is obtained for the products is not slaughtered Islamically, hence, it is still doubtful.

 

 

 

TOOTHPASTE

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

Lever Brothers Co.

Pepsodents

Close up

Aim

Vegetable Fat

HALAL

 

Colgate Palmolive Co.

Ultra Brite

Colgate Paste

Colgate Powder

Lard

HARAM

 

Vicks Chemical Co.

Fix -A- Dent

Vegetable Fat

HALAL

 

Procter and Gamble

Gleen

Lard

HARAM

 

 

NOTE: Contains alcohol; still in doubt about its use.

 

 

 

POT CLEANERS

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

GM Co.

Rescue 11Soap pads

 

HALAL

 

Purex Corporation Brillo

Supreme Steel Wool balls

 

HALAL

 

 

Soap pads

Kosher Soap (Packaged 2 each Pink& Green Bars per carton)

Double Pads

Lard

Beef Tallow

HARAM

 

Miles laboratory

S.O.S Soap Pads

Tuffy Plastic Mesh

Moth/Balls

Lard

HARAM

 

 

 

 

MEDICATION

 

Manufacturer /Vendor

Brand

Coagulant/Ingredients

Use

 

 

Seldane Caps.

Pepsin

HARAM

 

 

Seldane Syrup

 

HALAL

 

 

 

 

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

 

 

 

 

LIST OF HALAL AND HARAM FOOD INGREDIENTS

 

INGREDIENT

TYPE

 

Acetic Acid

HALAL

 

Alcohol

HARAM

 

Ammonium chloride

HALAL

 

Ammonium Sulphate

HALAL

 

Animal Fat

HARAM

 

Animal shortening

Investigate

 

Ascorbic Acid

HALAL

 

Aspartame

HALAL

 

Bacon (Pork)

HARAM

 

Benzoate/Benzoic Acid

HALAL

 

BHA

HALAL

 

BHT

HALAL

 

Calcium Carbonate

HALAL

 

Calcium Sulphate

HALAL

 

Carrageenan

HALAL

 

Cocoa Butter

HALAL

 

Collegen (pork)

HARAM

 

Corn Meal/Corn Starch

HALAL

 

Corn Syrup

HALAL

 

Dextrin/Dextrose

HALAL

 

Dicalcium phosphate

HALAL

 

Diglyceride (Animal)

HARAM

 

Diglyceride (Plant)

HALAL

 

Dough Conditioners

HARAM

 

EDTA

HALAL

 

Emulsifier

HARAM

 

Enzyme (Animal)

HARAM

 

Enzyme (Plant)

HALAL

 

Ergocalciferol

HALAL

 

Ergosterol

HALAL

 

Fat (Pork or Animal)

HARAM

 

Fatty Acid (Animal)

HARAM

 

Fatty Acid (Plant)

HALAL

 

Ferrous Sulphate

HALAL

 

Fructose

HALAL

 

Fungal Protease Enzyme

HALAL

 

Gelatin

HARAM

 

Glucose

HALAL

 

Glyceride (Animal)

HARAM

 

Glyceride (Plant)

HALAL

 

Glycerol/Glycerine (Animal)

HARAM

 

Glycerol /Glycerine (Plant)

HALAL

 

Gum Acacia

HALAL

 

Ham

HARAM

 

Harmones (Animal)

HARAM

 

Harmones (Plant)

HALAL

 

Hydrogenated Oil

HALAL

 

Hydrolyzed Animal protein

HARAM

 

Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein

HALAL

 

Lard

HARAM

 

Leavenings

HALAL

 

Lecithin (commercial)

HALAL

 

Malt

HALAL

 

Malto Dextrin

HALAL

 

Hydrogenated oil

HALAL

 

Molasses

HALAL

 

Monocalcium Phosphate

HALAL

 

Mono Saccharides

HALAL

 

Monoglycerides (Animal)

HARAM

 

Monoglycerides (Plant)

HALAL

 

MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)

HALAL

 

Nitrates/Nitrites

HALAL

 

Nonfat Dry Milk

HALAL

 

Oxalic Acid

HALAL

 

PABA

HALAL

 

Partially Hydrogenated oil

HALAL

 

Pectic Materials

HALAL

 

Pectin

HALAL

 

Pepsin (Animal)

HARAM

 

Phospholipid (Animal)

HARAM

 

Phospholipid (Plant)

HALAL

 

Phosphoric Acid

HALAL

 

Pork & All by Products

HARAM

 

Potassium Benzoate

HALAL

 

Potassium Citrate

HALAL

 

Propionate

HALAL

 

Propionic Acid

HALAL

 

Renin Rennet

Investigate

 

Saccharine

HALAL

 

Salt

HALAL

 

Sausage

HARAM

 

Shortening (Animal)

HARAM

 

Shortening (Plant)

HALAL

 

Soy protein

HALAL

 

Soybean Oil

HALAL

 

Sucrose

HALAL

 

Tapioca

HALAL

 

Tricalcium Phosphate

HALAL

 

Vinegar

HALAL

 

Whey

Investigate

 

Yeast

HALAL

 

 

 

 

NOTE:

 

Please check the ingredients of every food brand, which you use. Also check any or all-new products you use before making your purchase. If you have any doubts, you may write or phone to the manufacturer, so far they have been very helpful to us and it will put your mind at ease.

post-37-1124139827.jpg

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    • No registered users viewing this page.
×
×
  • Create New...